Tuesday, June 9, 2009

EDUCATED BUT NO MANNERS!!!

I have just read an article on the newspaper today, regarding to those who are educated but with no manners.

Unfortunately, this is not an unusual scenario. From time to time, we have realized that a big percentage of people have bad manners. And what makes it more shameful is because those without good manners are usually those highly educated.

Think carefully:
When was the last time you thank or you said "You're welcome!" to the toll cashier?
When was the last time you give way to another car on the road?
When was the last time you smile to a total stranger?
How often do you jump on queues?
Have you ever apologize whenever you fart/burp in public?
How often you use indecent words on others?
& more...

We learnt about manners during schooling time, but why don't we practice them in reality? Why do we tend to forget about the good things we learnt from school?

Some of them, with some 'extraordinary' excuses, would say, they did not receive good manners in return when they were being nice to the others, so why should they? Eventually, they might "stop" being nice to other.. But, what will we lose by being well-mannered? Lose face? I supposed this is the biggest threat for being well-mannered!!!

We have learned to say "thank you" & "I'm sorry" way before we entered school. Smile more often. You will feel happier than before.

Do not expect how much you can take, but give as much as you can!

No comments:

Post a Comment